Tomato Veggie Pasta Sauce

Tomato Veggie Pasta Sauce

I thought it was about time to come back to my blog after the birth of my daughter, Amelia Rose. She was born almost five weeks ago and life has consisted of nappy changes, feeding and many sleepless nights. To be fair to her, the nights have not been as sleepless as I expected but she has me up at least twice each night to feed.

I’m enjoying being a mother and being on maternity leave to spend lots of time with her. It’s amazing how fast she is growing and changing already; something I didn’t expect to happen so quickly. She is at the stage now where she will look for me if someone else is holding her and she hears my voice. It’s a really lovely feeling. We are looking forward to her first proper smiles and giggles now. I can’t wait!

Amelia Rose

But back to the food. Pasta sauce used to be something that came from a jar when I was growing up, and also when I moved out of my childhood home. I didn’t realise quite what was added to an innocent tomato sauce until I started paying closer attention to ingredients when my digestion got worse. My mum used to do her jarred tomato sauce with minced beef which I never really enjoyed the texture of so it was not something that I ever made for myself.

Although I am not a vegetarian, I do love veggies and always throw them in to my pasta dishes. You can use anything that needs using up in the fridge which is the joy of this kind of dish. Here are the ones I used on this occasion:

Aubergine

Onion

Red Pepper

Celery

Garlic

Cavolo Nero (Kale)

Tomato Passata

Dried Oregano

Dried Basil

Salt & Pepper

Oil

Veggie Pasta Sauce

All I did was saute the onion and garlic in a little oil first before throwing in all the chopped veggies and softening. Season with the dried herbs and salt and pepper. When the veggies are almost cooked to your liking, throw in a bottle of passata and warm through. Serve over gluten free pasta, or as I did, layer with some lasagna sheets and homemade white sauce and bake. I made my white sauce with vegan marg, gluten free flour and unsweetened almond milk.

Other good veggies to use are courgette/zucchini, red onions, leek, carrot or squash. A new veg I have tried recently is celeriac. It tastes kind of like a mild parsnip and is lovely roasted but work in this dish too if you cut it up nice and small.

Tomato Pasta Veggie Sauce

How do you like to eat pasta? Do you recommend any gluten free brands?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Tomato Veggie Pasta Sauce

  1. densington April 7, 2015 at 11:17 am Reply

    That pasta sauce looks delicious! I have to try it myself once. A welcome change from all the sauces in a jar. And congratulations on being a mom. I hope you and your family will have a happy and healthy journey ahead of you πŸ™‚

  2. aspoonfulofnature April 7, 2015 at 11:40 am Reply

    yumm!! I love this sauce is like a ratatouille but in the sauce version

    https://aspoonfulofnature.wordpress.com/

  3. April @ Simplify Your Health April 7, 2015 at 6:29 pm Reply

    Congratulations! She is beautiful. And so is the sauce πŸ˜‰ All the best x

  4. Rebecca April 21, 2015 at 9:20 am Reply

    Congratulations on your beautiful daughter! And I recommend Doves Farm pasta, it’s not too expensive for organic and delicious pasta.

Leave a Reply

