Bramley Apple Cake – GF, DF

Gluten Free Apple CakeI love apples; especially green ones, but they give me really bad stomach ache. Cooked apples are a lot better for me and I can enjoy them occasionally, so I love putting them in puddings and cakes. They go really well with brown sugar too which is what I topped this cake with to get a nice crisp top and to give it some colour as well.

You could easily use this recipe to make individual cakes or a big circular one but I like the tray bake style. You don’t have to turn it out of the tin and can serve it up in big squares, either alone or with some custard on top. This did not last long at all! I had a friend over in the evening and between my boyfriend, my friend and myself, we finished this off that night!

I’ve been baking and cooking quite a bit while on maternity leave, trying to pass the time before my baby arrives. I’m one day overdue now so I probably won’t be doing much cooking for a few weeks. Also my house has never been so clean and organised. That definitely won’t last!

Recipe

2 Bramley Apples (or other large apples – you might need 3 if they are smaller)

4oz/115g Self Raising Gluten Free Flour

4oz/115g Unrefined Sugar (preferably brown) + extra for topping

4oz/115g Vegan Margarine

2 Eggs (or equivalent in replacement)

Preheat the oven to 180c/160c fan. Cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs. Fold in the flour and spoon the mixture into your baking dish. Smooth out. Peel and cut out the core of the apples, chopping them in half. Slice thinly; about 2-3mm thick. Lay the slices on top of the cake and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for 15-20 minutes until the tops is golden and crisp and a skewer comes out clean. Enjoy fresh from the oven or allow to cool.

GF DF Apple Cake

How do you like apples best? Do you bake with them often?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

