Freezer Cottage Pies

VeggiesFollowing my previous post on the soup that I froze, this one is another freezer post but on cottage pies. I bought foil food containers for these so that I could just put the container in the oven to reheat and just throw it away if I have it alone, but I will more than likely cook up some greens to go with these so there might be some washing up!

This probably isn’t a “proper” cottage pie as I used up some veggies that were in my fridge (courgette and peppers) along with onion and garlic. I did use beef here because I have been eating more meat since getting pregnant but you could easily substitute for Quorn or TVP or something like that. Or another kind of minced meat if you prefer.

Onions and Garlic

Here is what I used:

1 large pack of Minced Beef

2 Onions

3 cloves Garlic

1 Red Pepper

1 Yellow Pepper

1 Courgette

1 Beef Stock Cube (You can usually get gluten free or yeast free)

Salt and Pepper

4 Large Potatoes

Vegan Margarine

Lactose Free/Vegan Cheese (Optional)

Chop the garlic and onions and soften in a little oil. In a separate pan (if using a fatty meat), cook the meat and drain off any excess fat what comes out. Once you are happy you have taken out everything you don’t want in your food, crumble in the stock cube. In the pan with the onions and garlic, add in the veggies and soften slightly. Turn off the heat and combine both pans together. Season to taste but check first because your stock cube might be salty enough.

Portion the mixture into your containers or make one big one.

Cottage Pies

Peel, chop and boil the potatoes until tender. Mash with some vegan margarine and a little vegan milk if required, and season. Top the pies with the mash and add on a little cheese if you like. I baked mine at 180c/160c fan for about 25 minutes. Allow them to cool completely before labelling and freezing, or eat right away. My foil containers came with cardboard lids that I wrote on with a sharpie.

Cottage Pies

I haven’t tried these yet as I froze all of them but I’m sure they will be filling and satisfying after as long day of nursing and nappy changing!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Freezer Cottage Pies

  1. eat2healthUK February 18, 2015 at 11:00 am Reply

    Great meal planning!

    • freedomfoodjournal February 18, 2015 at 11:29 am Reply

      Thanks. I think meal planning is a great idea especially when you have a busy lifestyle.

      • eat2healthUK February 18, 2015 at 11:45 am

        We completely agree! 🙂

Leave a Reply

