Pecan and Date Cupcakes and Traybake

Pecan Date CupcakesCan these be called cupcakes without frosting? Well I am calling them cupcakes, although my mum would probably call them fairy cakes. Either way they are delicious. I love putting dates in my baking because they go all caramelized and syrupy. And then there are the pecans. I love how they soften slightly but still give a lovely bite.

Baking in paper cases is great for portion control too. If I bake one big cake I tend to have a much bigger piece than I would with cupcakes. Plus the clean up is much easier! As you can see, I had a mixture of different designs that need using up so I went for a mismatch. Yes some are christmas themed, and no, I didn’t bake them at christmas. It was only a week or so after so it must be ok.

Even my cat loves these cakes. I let her have a tiny bit (without nut or date) and she climbed on my shoulder for more. She’s a strange creature.

Pecan Date Cupcake

Recipe

4oz/115g Gluten Free Self Raising Flour

4oz/115g Unrefined Sugar

4oz/115g Vegan Margarine (not hydrogenated)

2 eggs (or egg replacement)

1 handful Chopped Pecans

8-10 medium/large Dates, stoned and chopped

Cream the marg and sugar until light and smooth. Beat in the eggs and then fold in the flour, along with the nuts and dates. Spoon in to cases and bake at 180c/160c fan for 10-15 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean.

As simple as that! I made the same recipe about a week after but used walnuts instead of pecans, and baked it as a tray bake rather than cupcakes.

Walnut Date Traybake

Both were delicious and used up left over dates and nuts. I always feel better about having a baked treat if there is something healthy in there, whether it be grated veggies, nuts or oats.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pecan and Date Cupcakes and Traybake

  1. Rebecca January 27, 2015 at 1:15 pm Reply

    Great recipe ideas and a fab way to use up dates. I made a date and ginger cake recently which was good too 😄 Definitely going to give the cupcakes a go!

    • freedomfoodjournal January 27, 2015 at 1:23 pm Reply

      Ooo that sounds like a good combo! Hope you like the cupcakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

