Vegan Cookies!

Vegan Cookies

It was one of my New Year’s resolutions in January to work my way through some of the cookbooks I own. And believe me, I own a LOT. While I didn’t try as many recipes as I would have liked, I did try more than any other year. And Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar is one of the books that I have tried multiple recipes from.

Vegan Cookies

These cookies are the standard chocolate chips ones. They are crisp on the outside and slightly chewy inside. My only negative comment on these, as a none vegan, is that they taste vegan. It might have been the oil I used but they tasted slightly of oil. If I make them again I will use coconut oil. I think I used rapeseed when I made these. It didn’t stop me eating them all though!

Vegan Cookie

Have you got this cookbook or any others by these cooks? I’ve got Appetite for Reduction by Isa which I have made quite a few tasty recipes from. The cookie recipe book is the opposite of that healthy eating book but we all need a treat sometimes!

I did make these gluten free. I used a mix brown rice flour and tapioca flour which also could have been to blame for the slight funky taste. Has any one made the recipe with wheat flour? I wonder if it is any different.

I haven’t been doing much cooking or baking lately. I’m now in my third trimester and starting to get a bit big and tired. I also have PGP which is pain in the pelvic joints that is supposed to go away a few weeks after giving birth. I’ve been given a support belt and some crutches because walking is becoming really hard. I had all these plans of how healthy and active my pregnancy was going to be and they have all gone out of the window. With morning sickness and then aversions and cravings, I have been pretty bad. Plus I haven’t really been about to exercise since week 16 and I am now week 30! Oh well, I’m sure there will be plenty of walks with my daughter when she is here.

I hope you all have a really great Christmas and a happy new year 🙂

DSC_1777

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

