Healthier Chocolate Popcorn

Healthy Chocolate Popcorn

I’m a huge snacker and have at least two snacks every day. I prefer my snacks to be sweet but am always conscious about my sugar intake. I have been eating a lot of chocolate since my second trimester, whether it is actual chocolate, brownies, chocolate milk; I just can’t get enough. But I wanted to lighten things up a bit and bring down the sugar.

I have made home made popcorn only a couple of times and have never added anything wet as a topping because I worried the popcorn would lose it’s crunch but this melted chocolate topping worked really well. It set enough to not be too messy and the popcorn kept it’s texture. I added chopped nuts for extra crunch and nutrition but you can really do anything with this.

Nuts

Coconut oil is a great choice because it has a high smoking point and can be heated really high without going bad, plus it is a healthy fat. I always choose oils labelled as raw or extra virgin because they have been less messed with. These versions usually have a really nice mild coconut taste too.

Chocolate Popcorn

All you need is:

1 tbsp Coconut Oil

1/2 cup Popcorn Kernels

100g Dark Chocolate (mine was 80% cocoa)

1/2 cup Nuts of Choice (I used Hazelnuts and Almonds)

 

Heat the oil in a medium/large saucepan that you have a lid for. Once it is all melted, add in the kernels and put the lid on. Swish them around so they get nicely coated. Leave it on a medium heat until the popping begins. Give it a swish until the popping slows down quite a bit.

In the meantime, gently melt the chocolate and chop up the nuts.

Put the popcorn in a big bowl or container and pour over the chocolate and sprinkle on the nuts. Mix well and enjoy fresh or keep for a day or two.

Chocolate Popcorn

And enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

