Sweet Potato Blondies

I am a pinterest addict. I pin all kinds of things from recipes to baby clothes. I was looking through my pins recently to see which recipes I could make and saw that I have pinned over 1600 things! Oops. But it is a valuable resource for recipes and I have actually tried some of them.

I love baking but try not to bake too much due to all the sugar, fat and refined flour. Even my favourite gluten free flour mix is as white as snow which suggests some kind of bleaching or something. This recipe for Sweet Potato Brownies was not gluten free so I just amended the ingredients to suit me. I did 1 cup plain gluten free flour mix and 3/4 cup brown rice flour rather than the suggested wheat flours, and used a gluten free baking powder. I did use real butter because my dairy sensitivity has eased slightly and I prefer to use small amounts of organic real butter than overly processed vegan margarine, but use what ever works best for you and your needs.

Sweet Potato Blondies

These blondies were tasty but I wouldn’t have named them blondies. They were lovely and moist and I enjoyed the chocolate chips (I used chopped chocolate in chunks), however they didn’t taste overly sweet despite having added sugar and the sweet potatoes. They were also a bit time consuming with all the peeling, chopping, boiling, cooling, blending. But for me I would rather spend that extra time and energy to make a healthier bake than to do a quick and easy bake full of rubbish.

Sweet Potato Blondies

We also had some covered with warm soya custard as a sunday night treat which was lovely. Us Brits love a sunday pudding drenched in custard!

If you would like to give them a try you can find the recipe here.

Do you use pinterest? Do you ever actually make anything you see on there?

Sweet Potato Blondies

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

