Spinach and Berry Chia Seed Smoothie

The weather is turning pretty cold here in England. The garden is looking very sorry for itself, all dead plants and overgrown weeds that I haven’t gotten around to sorting out. I did, however, pick some overgrown runner and dwarf beans and dried them for next years planting.

Runner Beans

The only thing in the garden still providing anything are two cherry tomato plants which have given me some really tasty but very small tomatoes this year. I have been having them with everything and there still seems to be hundreds left to pick!

Dwarf Beans

I have been having a hard time eating healthily since I became pregnant. I will be 18 weeks pregnant tomorrow and all I want to eat are white carbs. I have mostly been satisfying this with potatoes and trying to pair them with healthy options, but I haven’t been having anywhere near as many healthy smoothies, juices or salads as I was before. It is very important to me that I feed my unborn baby as well I as possibly can though.

Spinach berry chia smoothie

This smoothie was one of the first in a few weeks. I had bought some frozen blueberries a couple of weeks ago and had them with spinach and banana in a smoothie, but it just wasn’t sweet enough and I didn’t enjoy it. This week I bought some frozen raspberries to mix in there too and it worked a treat. I also added a sprinkle of chia seeds to the top for texture and nutrition. By the time I got to the bottom of my smoothie (which was a whole pint!), some of these seeds had sunk to the bottom and begun to swell, adding another lovely texture and treat at the end.

Here’s the recipe, if you can call it that!

1 small Banana
1 big handful Spinach Leaves
1 smaller handful frozen Blueberries
1 same sized handful frozen Raspberries
Almond Milk (around 200ml)
1 tbsp Chia Seeds

Put everything into the blender except for the chia seeds. I tend to add almond milk as I go to get the texture I want. If it’s too thick my blender can’t cope, if it’s too thin I don’t enjoy drinking it as much. Sprinkle the seeds on at the end and enjoy. I have a couple of glass straws that I like to drink my smoothies through.

Spinach berry chia smoothie

I have also been very busy this week sorting out all of the clutter in the house. Who would have thought it would be so difficult to clear one spare room? There are piles of books and boxes of random rubbish everywhere!

Do you ever add chia seeds to your smoothies? What other goodies do you like to add?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

