My Favourite Brownie Recipe – Healthified

Date Sweetened Brownies

I used to bake all the time. I would use bleached gluten free flour, hydrogenated vegetable margarine, and white refined sugar. And while I still indulge like that sometimes, I am much more wary about the ingredients that I use. After years of cutting out this and that, I have come to a point where I don’t deny myself anything. The allergens and bad things are an occasional treat now. I find it much easy to stick to a generally healthy diet if I don’t deny myself of the things that I want. My stomach troubles remind me when to stop anyway!

I bought some medjool dates, fresh not dried, as snacks for work, but I found them too sweet on their own. After sitting in my fridge for a day or two, I decided I would bake with them and had a craving for brownies.

Date & Coconut Oil Brownies

If you have read much of my blog, you will also know that I love coconut oil, so I used it in place of butter or margarine. It is these little swaps that can make a big difference without you noticing too much. That goes for the ingredients I have used here too. If you are low FODMAP and don’t want to use dates, try a suitable sugar or something like brown rice syrup. If you don’t have a food processor and like dates, try a date syrup or puree. You could even swap the flour for ground almonds or the eggs for egg replacement. Just give it a go!

Date and Coconut Oil Brownies

Recipe
5oz Pitted Medjool Dates
3oz Coconut Oil (weighed while solid)
3oz Brown Rice Flour
1tsp Gluten Free Baking Powder
1.5oz Cocoa Power (or Raw Cacao)
2 Eggs
2tbsp Almond Milk (Unsweetened)
1tsp Vanilla Extract
Optional: Chocolate Chips, Chopped Nuts, Dried Fruit

Note: If you want to use dried dates, soak them in hot water for about half an hour to help them blend easier.

Put the dates and cocoa power in a food processor and blend until you get a flour like consistency. Melt the coconut oil and add to the food processor. Blend until well combined. Empty the contents into a large bowl and mix in the eggs or egg replacement, along with the vanilla. Mix in the flour and baking powder, along with any optional extras. I just sprinkled a few dark chocolate chips on mine before baking as more of a decoration than anything. They held their shape pretty well.

Put the mix into a medium pyrex baking dish and flatten with a spatula. Bake in a preheated oven at 180c/160c fan for 10 to 15 minutes. I did mine for about 15 and missed out on the gooey centre so I would suggest 10 minutes if you like that. Allow to cool before cutting.

Healthy Brownies

I really hope you guys like this recipe as brownies are very close to my heart. My next challenge is to come up with a recipe using beans instead of flour so sorry to all the low FODMAP readers! I have been occasionally having FODMAPs and I am still feeling ok with just a little bit of discomfort, but I know it would get worse if I had more. It’s all about balance and listening to your body!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Brownie Recipe – Healthified

  1. joiedevivrebypia September 7, 2014 at 9:59 pm Reply

    These look so delicious! I’ve been trying to find a good brownie recipe and I think this one is going on my to-bake list:)

  2. Sophie33 December 5, 2014 at 9:23 pm Reply

    Mmmmmmmmm,….your brownies look utterly delicious!

Leave a Reply

