Raw Cacao Maca Brownie Bites

Raw Cacao Maca Brownie Bites

Summer is finally here and it feels great. Us Brits spend the majority of our lives staring glumly at the grey, drizzly skies, dreaming of a bit of sun. I myself love to garden; a relatively new hobby. This is my third summer of having my own garden and I am growing more than ever. I have had new potatoes, a couple of strawberries and a few pods of peas so far, but my runner beans and tomatoes are in flower and I am looking forward to picking those too.

Homegrown Strawberry

This weather is great for photography too, compared to the grey skies and drizzle, but the harsh sunlight can be a pain. Below is my favourite photo of the day of my Hydrangea. I don’t really do flowers so much as I prefer to grow edible crops, but I love Hydrangeas and I want to buy a couple more for the flower bed.

Hydrangea

But back to food. I really enjoyed the raw peanut butter cookies I made recently and have been scouring blogs and pinterest for inspiration for my own raw recipe. I am a huge fan of brownies and saw so many delicious recipes that I had the try it for myself. A lot of them looked so sweet that I decided to scale mine down a bit. I love dates but they can be sickly and a lot of recipes had copious amounts of dates as well as added syrup. I wanted to give mine a healthy twist also by not only using raw cacao, but adding maca too as it works well with cacao. I decided to use half my nut quantity as hazelnuts for that nutella kind of taste.

I am pretty happy with this recipe. It’s not too sweet but hits that chocolate craving spot and you only really need one or two bites to feel satisfied. These kinds of brownies are supposed to keep for weeks in the fridge which is really handy too. I put a few in a mini Tupperware for work and snacked on them through the day instead of having processed, dairy filled chocolate which I too often have.

Medjool Dates

Recipe

1/2 cup Hazlenuts
1/2 cup Almonds
1 1/2 cup Medjool Dates (I got organic from Sainsburys)
5 tbsp Raw Cacao
2 tbsp Maca Powder
Pinch of sea salt

Nuts

Put all the nuts in a food processor and process into almond meal consistency. You don’t need to be too thorough here as having some chunks of nut in your brownies is no bad thing. Give your blades a rest while you take the pits out of the dates, and then throw them in with the powders and salt. All you need to do is process it again until it comes together. You can test a bit by picking out a little bit and pushing it together with your fingers. If you can mould it then it is ready.

Raw Brownie Dough

I lined a pyrex dish with baking paper and pushed the dough down until it was all smooth without and air pockets. I then folded extra paper over the top and set in the fridge for a couple of hours. You can weigh it down with something if you want. Then just slice it into small squares and stored in an airtight container in the fridge.

Raw brownies

Have you had raw brownies before? I would love to hear your thoughts on this recipe 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Raw Cacao Maca Brownie Bites

  1. thepersonalblogs June 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm Reply

    It sounds amazing but they wouldn’t last long in my apartment 😉

    • freedomfoodjournal June 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm Reply

      Thanks. Luckily they are full of healthy ingredients so it wouldn’t be too bad if you ate them all!

  2. mgdailyexploits June 22, 2014 at 5:17 pm Reply

    Looks awesome! I’m staying with some vegan friends at the moment, and they love raw recipes. I will have to pass this one on to them!

    • freedomfoodjournal June 22, 2014 at 5:27 pm Reply

      I hope they like it! Raw recipes are amazingly simple and quick to do.

  3. healthable old soul June 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm Reply

    Raw foods are so delicious! I have tried making brownies with black beans (by the way fantastic with the right recipe) but am super thrilled to try more “raw.”

    • freedomfoodjournal June 24, 2014 at 6:03 am Reply

      I have been looking at black bean brownie recipes. Glad to hear they are good!

  4. Sophie33 December 5, 2014 at 9:28 pm Reply

    I have Madera similar recipe like this & loved it too,

    • freedomfoodjournal December 5, 2014 at 10:13 pm Reply

      I will have to check yours out. I love this kind of recipe

      • Sophie33 December 5, 2014 at 10:15 pm

        It is ,ot on my blog because it was from.another blog!

      • Sophie33 December 5, 2014 at 10:15 pm

        I,meant not

Leave a Reply

