Roasted Veg Frittata with Balsamic Tomatoes

Roast Veg Frittata with Balsamic Tomatoes

I have recently reintroduced eggs. I probably only have about one a week, if that, but it is nice to have an extra protein source in my diet. I wanted to make a frittata or quiche like dish but with no cheese element. Frittata seemed like the easiest option, so after reading a LOT of recipes, I came up with this dish.

Now if you aren’t adding any meat or cheese, you need something flavourful in their place. And for this I always go for roasted vegetables sprinkled with herbs. You can really use any combination you like here. I used my tomatoes as a side dish to keep too much moisture out of the frittata, although sundried tomatoes would be a really good option here and they are packed with flavour. The greens on the plate are actually from my garden. I just filled a small trough with compost and sprinkled over organic mesclun seeds and let them grown in a warm, protected place. They are really herby and a delicious addition to summery dishes.

Recipe

4 eggs

1 punnet Cherry Tomatoes

Oil (I used Cold Pressed Rapeseed)

Balsamic Vinegar

1 cup Cubed Butternut Squash

1/2 Red Onion

1/2 large Red Bell Pepper

Dried Sage

Salt and Pepper

2 Cloves Garlic

Roasted veg

Dice or slice the onion and red pepper. Slice tomatoes in half. In one baking dish, lay the tomatoes cut side up and lightly drizzle with oil and then balsamic vinegar. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Lightly bruise the garlic and put in a second baking dish. Add the squash, pepper and onion and drizzle with oil an sprinkle with sage and salt.

Bake the veggies (but leave the tomatoes for now) at 180c fan for 15 minutes until they are softened and beginning to colour. Set aside. Beat the eggs with a little pepper in a bowl. Pour over the veggies in the baking dish and put into the oven with the tomatoes. Turn the oven down to 160c fan and bake for 15-20 minutes.

You want the frittata to be golden brown on top with no wobble. Take the tomatoes as far as you like. I went for soft and gooey but nit burnt. If you burn the balsamic then it can turn a little bitter.

Frittata

This was way more delicious than I was expecting. I can be a little funny with eggs and generally don’t like scrambled eggs, but this was so nice. I even had some for my lunch at work the next day and it was just as nice cold.

This recipe serves 2 hungry people, or 3 for a light lunch. I cut mine into 6 for a light meal, a breakfast, and a light lunch.

Frittata

And if you read my recent post on homemade almond milk, I just wanted to share with you how I used my leftover pulp. On my post I told you how I baked it into almond meal. I kept it in a sealed container in the cupboard for about 5 days and then made these cookie dough balls from Oh She Glows cookbook. I kept them in the freezer and took one out whenever I needed something sweet but not too naughty. They were lovely and I will definitely be making them again. I love that cookbook!

Oh She Glows Cookie Dough

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Roasted Veg Frittata with Balsamic Tomatoes

  1. athleticavocado June 17, 2014 at 11:58 am Reply

    yum! im gonna make this! I just bought butternut squash!

    • freedomfoodjournal June 17, 2014 at 4:24 pm Reply

      I hope you like it 🙂 butternut squash is one of my favourite ingredients

  2. sophiebowns June 17, 2014 at 2:47 pm Reply

    This sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

