Homemade Coconut Butter

Coconut Butter

I have never actually had coconut butter before as I haven’t seen it anywhere at a reasonable price. Coconut oil is getting more affordable in England and I have been enjoying this for quite a while. But coconut butter? I wasn’t even really sure what the difference was until I looked it up online. The only difference I could find was that coconut oil is 100% coconut oil, and coconut butter contains coconut flesh. I also found that it was as easy as blending up dried coconut until it became the right consistency. As simple as that!

You don’t really need a fancy blender for this if you have a food processor. My food processor is not a really expensive one but made easy work of this. All I would suggest is doubling the quantity if you have a tired old food processor. Mine got to a certain point of working fine and then the mixture was so broken down that the blades kept spinning and not actually touching the mixture anymore because it has pushed it all up the sides. Luckily my food processor came with a mini chopper attachment so I finished it off in there and got it completely smooth.

Coconut Butter

Recipe

1 cup Organic Desiccated Coconut
1 tbsp Coconut Oil (Optional but helps if your processor isn’t that great)

Throw your ingredients into your food processor and turn on high until smooth. You might need to stop a few times and scrape down the sides but see how it goes. You also might need to give your processor a little break in the middle if it can’t handle it. Pour the mixture into a glass jar or Tupperware pot and set in the fridge. In the book I Quit Sugar, Sarah pours hers into ice cube moulds and freezes, allowing them to come to room temperature before use which is a good idea. I kept mine in the fridge and sat the pot in warm water before using.

Coconut Butter

My cat was all over this! She loves anything coconut and loves to lick the bowl after I have eaten my coconut oil porridge. She’s been mad at me this week as it has been too warm for porridge.

I used a corn crispbread to spread it on here which worked really well as the corn crispbread has a sweetness that made it taste more like a dessert.

Have you made coconut butter or bought it ready made? Have you ever flavoured it with anything else?

Coconut Butter

Freedomfoodjournal is now on Instagram! Just search freedomfoodjournal and follow me 🙂 I love looking at everyone’s healthy photos. It is such good inspiration and motivation to eat well!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Homemade Coconut Butter

  1. DetoxMama June 14, 2014 at 11:46 am Reply

    Awesome! I have been wanting to make coconut butter for months but still haven’t tried it. Maybe this will be that final push. This looks fab!

  2. April @ Simplify Your Health June 14, 2014 at 8:50 pm Reply

    Coconut butter is all of the coconut, minus the outer hard shell of course! The difference is it has fibre & protein and is more of a ‘whole food’. Where coconut oil, while better than other ‘saturated fats’, is 100% fat and nothing else. When you make your own butter, it takes a really long time! But is much cheaper & healthier than the oil. I made mine using shredded coconut which hasn’t been heated. It is lovely isn’t it!

    • freedomfoodjournal June 14, 2014 at 8:52 pm Reply

      Thanks for the info! Yeah I really like it and it was well worth the effort.

      • April @ Simplify Your Health June 14, 2014 at 8:54 pm

        You’re welcome. I think most people admit it takes a really long time, perhaps stopping to cool your blades. But it’s significantly cheaper. I just found & followed you on Instagram 🙂

Leave a Reply

