Raw Peanut Butter Cookies and a Green Smoothie

Raw Peanut Butter CookiesRaw food pops up all over the place now. The idea is that you are not using heat and therefore not killing all the vitamins and enzymes that are naturally present in the food. I was told to take an enzyme supplement a few years back by a holistic nutritionist and it really did help that heavy, bloated feeling after meals, so eating my enzymes sounds very interesting to me.

Raw desserts have intrigued me for a while. On one hand, they are high in fat from nuts and sugar from dried fruits, but this is all natural so what is the harm? This recipe uses dates which are high FODMAP but I don’t plan to ever eat mass amounts of these as they are filling. My current FODMAP consumption is based around how my stomach feels at the time. I prefer to listen to my body rather than strictly follow any diet. So a few dates here are ok as long as I try to avoid too many FODMAP items in my other meals.

I liked these cookies a lot more than I was expecting to. I almost felt like I should coat them in chocolate and call them a peanut butter cup. But I refrained. These are good enough as they are for me. I did however add about a tablespoon of light tahini to make the mix stickier because mine was too flour like. I put them in a Tupperware in the fridge for when I need a sweet treat and will take one or two to work tomorrow for a snack at my desk.

And so, just like that, I am a raw dessert convert. It took about five minutes to whip this recipe up, with no cooking and just my food processor to clean. I want to try a few other things and come up with a recipe of my own so stay tuned.

To see the recipe for this, click here.

Β 

Raw Peanut Butter Cookie

I had one of these for my evening meal which was a bit naughty of me, but I also had an amazing green smoothie which was coconut water, frozen melon, spinach, banana and chia seeds. Yum!

Green Smoothie

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Raw Peanut Butter Cookies and a Green Smoothie

  1. Jessie June 4, 2014 at 1:00 am Reply

    Those cookies look amazing! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award, details on my latest post if you’d like to participate. I love your creative recipes.

  2. Brittany June 5, 2014 at 2:51 am Reply

    Raw recipes are so fun to me, they really force you to experiment! These cookies look great.

    • freedomfoodjournal June 5, 2014 at 11:51 am Reply

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I am loving raw recipes at the moment. So good for you too!

Leave a Reply

