Vegan Gluten Free Oat & Date Slice

Vegan GF Oat Slice

Gluten free oats are a real staple in my diet. I have porridge most days for breakfast, I use oats in baking, and I sometime even add them to smoothies. Traditional baking recipes use a LOT of sugar, not to mention butter and hydrogenated fats. You can replace fats with things like applesauce and sugar with things like stevia, but I think the recipe often loses a lot this way. I based this recipe on a flapjack which apparently is a pancake in america, but here in England it is a baked oat, syrup and butter traybake, I guess you would call it. It is in no way cakey and holds together well. I didn’t want to use all that butter and sugar so decided on using bananas for sweetness and moisture, peanut butter for flavour and a glue, and maple syrup for sweetness. I also added chia seeds and chopped dates for a bit of extra texture and flavour.

Vegan GF Oat Slice

Recipe

3 cups Gluten Free Oats
4 tbsp Smooth Peanut Butter
4 tbsp Maple Syrup (or Brown Rice Syrup)
3 tbsp Chia Seeds
2 large or 3 small Bananas
1/3 cup Chopped Dates (not the kind coated in weird powder)

Mash the bananas with a fork and then mix in the syrup and peanut butter. Mix everything all together and bake at 180c/160c fan for 10-15 mins. I made mine about an inch thick and made six large slices so that one could replace a breakfast. Or you can make it thinner and cut smaller squares for snacks.

I really hope you like these. They hold together really well for a portable snack and are quite dense and very filling. For low FODMAP I suggest swapping the dates for nuts or seeds. Use a sweetener that suits you but I find maple or brown rice syrups a good choice. You could also do part oats, part quinoa, buckwheat or millet flakes but I haven’t tried this so I don’t know how well it would work.

Vegan GF Oat Slice

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Vegan Gluten Free Oat & Date Slice

  1. The Veggie Green May 3, 2014 at 9:58 am Reply

    Sounds delicious – a recipe to try, thanks!

Leave a Reply

