Avocado Spinach Mango Smoothie

Green Smoothie

Can someone please tell me where summer is? We had one week of sun and it has pretty much rained everyday since. English weather sucks! I find it so much easier to eat healthily in the summer. Who feels like eating salad and drinking juice in winter when you are freezing cold and it’s dark in the evening? Not me!

I have never made a smoothie with avocado before. One because I once tried avocado chocolate pudding once which was rank (because I didn’t put enough sweetener in, I assume), and two because I didn’t want to use a whole one and they go brown if you just leave them in the fridge. What I have learnt is that eating a whole avocado is ok. Yes, they are high in fat and calories, but they are so good for you that there is no real reason not to have a whole one. I made this smoothie for my evening meal and had both servings. Otherwise this recipe will easily serve two. I like to have a squeeze of lemon with my avocado as it cuts through the “butteriness”.

Recipe

1 ripe Avocado
1 large handful Spinach (I used raw, frozen)
1 tbsp Fresh Lemon Juice
1 large handful Frozen Mango Chunks
1 cup Almond or Coconut Milk

Scoop the flesh out of the avocado and put in the blender along with everything else. Blend up and add a little more milk if it is too thick.

Use pineapple instead of mango for lower FODMAP. If you can’t tolerate avocado then you can always use banana instead. And if you really are concerned about the calories, use filtered water instead of milk.

Avocado Smoothie

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Avocado Spinach Mango Smoothie

  1. April @ Simplify Your Health April 30, 2014 at 6:42 pm Reply

    I love avocado smoothies! I use half and carefully wrap the avocado, it’s usually good for a couple of days. I use sorrel with mine sometimes, which also gives it a lemon flavour- I agree that’s really nice! I use water in my smoothies and still find them lovely & creamy 🙂

    • freedomfoodjournal April 30, 2014 at 7:11 pm Reply

      Do you add anything to stop the avocado browning? I tried wrapping half once and it turned brown. Maybe I didn’t do it tight enough.

      • April @ Simplify Your Health April 30, 2014 at 7:12 pm

        No I don’t. I leave the stone in the avocado though which apparently makes a difference. It also depends on how ripe the avocado is too. I wrap it in cling film very tightly 🙂

      • freedomfoodjournal May 1, 2014 at 11:32 am

        Thank you 🙂 I will try that!

Leave a Reply

