Raspberry Chia Pudding and Raspberry Smoothie

This week I finally tried something I have been wanting to try for a long time. Chia pudding! Oh how exciting my life is! I have seen many recipes and got the general idea that you basically need a lot more liquid than chia seeds, and you can then flavour it however you like. So armed with my research, I jumped right in! Now I don’t need to tell you how nutritious chia seeds are unless you have been living under a rock (or maybe I just spend too much time on pinterest); they are crazy good for you! So I have been wanting to add them to my diet for a while. I have been sprinkling a few in my smoothies and I tried the Oh She Glows Granola Bar recipe (See my review here) which had them in, but otherwise I am a bit of a noob.

I like to buy frozen fruit for smoothies and I also like to use fruit to sweeten my recipes without adding sugar, so fruit seemed the best way to go when I wanted to flavour my pudding. Frozen fruit is great because it is frozen when it is ripe and can be stored for a lot longer than fresh fruit without losing all it’s nutrients. I love fresh fruit too but it’s always been sitting on the supermarket shelves too long and ends up being good for about a day before it starts to look past it’s best.

I am also posting my raspberry smoothie here too because my latest frozen fruit purchase was a bag of frozen raspberries so they have found there way into more than one of my recipes. One bag cost me £2 and made about 8 portions (4 smoothies and 4 servings of chia pudding, as pictured). I think that’s pretty good value for money.

So Chia Pudding first as it is the main event:

Chia Pudding

4 tbsp Chia Seeds (for overnight soaking. If you want it faster, add a couple more)
1 cup Frozen Raspberries (or other fruit)
2 cups Unsweetened Almond Milk
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Blend the milk, raspberries and extract in a blender until smooth. Mix with seeds and allow to soak overnight. If you are looking for quicker results and are adding the extra seeds, I recommend soaking for at least an hour if you can.

I made this at night and it was good for the next two mornings. It made 4 servings as pictured.

Chia Pudding

Next up is a really tasty smoothie I made. I have also made it with spinach instead of the banana and swapped the milk for coconut water which was really tasty but a lot less filling. I like to buy a bag of organic baby spinach from the supermarket and freeze it as it is. The ready frozen kind is usually cooked a little which is why I freeze fresh. It doesn’t keep so well in the freezer as the baby leaves are fragile but I usually use it up within a week or two so it works fine for me.

Raspberry Banana Smoothie

1 handful Frozen Raspberries
1 Banana
1 tbsp Chia Seeds
1 tbsp Coconut Oil (raw)
Unsweetened Almond Milk

Blend everything up with enough almond milk to achieve the desired consistency. You can add spinach here if you like but it won’t be such a pretty colour. You can also use frozen banana if you would like a thicker, colder smoothie.

Raspberry Banana Smoothie

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Chia Pudding and Raspberry Smoothie

  1. ellebakes March 25, 2014 at 9:32 am Reply

    these all look amazing!

Leave a Reply

