Oh She Glows Soft & Chewy Granola Bars

Oh She Glows Granola Bars

When I was growing up, a cereal or granola bar was often in my packed lunch. They are one of those foods that pretend to be good for you but are packed with sugar and oil. If I am on the go and need a snack from a shop, I would still choose a granola bar over a chocolate bar as they are usually high fibre, but making your own healthier version at home is the best way to go.

I try to live low sugar and fail miserably all the time; I guess I’m addicted! So when I saw this recipe that is sweetened only with dried fruit and no added sugar or artificial sweetener, I knew it was for me. A lot of recipes use stevia which is natural and low GI, and is great if you are sugar free, but it doesn’t taste like sugar to me. I sometimes use it with sugar so I can use a lot less sugar but all stevia doesn’t taste right to me.

Oh She Glows is a brilliant blog with some amazing healthy recipes. It’s not just full of clean eating recipes, they are creative and exciting. You can visit the blog here: Oh She Glows

I subbed the dates for prunes as I only had prunes in and I know dates are really high in fructose, hence very high fodmap. Prunes are high fodmap too but I didn’t feel too bad after one of these granola bars. I also subbed the cranberries for apricots; again what I had in. The mixture was quite wet which made the bars very soft and moist. It could have been due to prunes being wetter than dates but I’m not sure. Here is what it looked like:

Oh She Glows Granola

Oh She Glows Granola

There are no nuts in this recipe but three kinds of seeds. One of them is Chia seed which is reported to be amazing for you so I was happy to add them here. I am a fan of unprocessed superfoods, by which I mean not processed into a powder or a capsule. Chia is just a natural seed full of nutrients and can be used in recipes like this, or can be used to make a Chia pudding, Chia water, Chia egg replacement. It absorbs liquid and swell up to a lot bigger than it’s normal size so can be used for all kinds of things, including weight loss as it fills you up by holding a lot of liquid and taking up more space in your stomach.

And here are the finished bars:

Oh she Glows Granola Bars

Oh She Glows Granola Bars

You can find the recipe here

These bars are really tasty. They aren’t like you shop bought granola bars but are a great snack. I followed her tip to freeze some as they are quite moist and I can’t imagine them lasting very long out of the freezer. I’m pretty excited to have a stash of these in my freezer for when ever hunger hits!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Oh She Glows Soft & Chewy Granola Bars

  1. Gluten Free Fabulous March 9, 2014 at 2:35 pm Reply

    Yum! They look really tasty!

  2. Meredith @ Peachy Clean Eats March 10, 2014 at 2:42 am Reply

    These look delightful- I love the Oh She Glows blog, have you had a chance to check out her new cookbook?

    • freedomfoodjournal March 10, 2014 at 7:14 am Reply

      I ordered it on Amazon about a week ago and I’m still waiting. Do you have it?

      • Meredith @ Peachy Clean Eats March 10, 2014 at 3:50 pm

        Ah I love getting books delivered in the mail πŸ˜€ No I went to Costco yesterday cause she posted it was available there but no luck!

      • freedomfoodjournal March 10, 2014 at 6:19 pm

        Good luck finding a copy. I am still patiently waiting for mine!

  3. emmaeats March 11, 2014 at 2:52 am Reply

    These look amazing!!

  4. […] I have been sprinkling a few in my smoothies and I tried the Oh She Glows Granola Bar recipe (See my review here) which had them in, but otherwise I am a bit of a […]

Leave a Reply

