Gluten Free Pasta Salad

Gluten Free Pasta Salad

Before all my food intolerances appeared, I used to take a sandwich to work everyday. White bread, processed margarine, some kind of meat or cheese. It was easy and comforting, with very little planning or thought. But then things got complicated. With no bread or dairy, there was very little left to eat that is portable and requires no heating.

This pasta salad gives me the same comfort as my old processed sandwich without all those nasty ingredients. It can also be made low FODMAP with the right veggies. But here is how I made it:

Recipe
Brown Rice Pasta, enough for two servings
1 Large Carrot
1/3 of a Cucumber
1 Red Pepper
1-2 ribs Celery
1/2 cup Frozen Sweetcorn, Defrosted
1 tbsp Walnut Oil, or any none hydrogenated oil
1/2 Lemon, squeezed

Gluten Free Pasta

Cook the pasta in salted water while you chop the veggies into small chunks. Drain the cooked pasta and toss with the veggies and dress with the lemon and oil.

Leave to cool before dividing into two containers.

Dressing

I like to bulk out pasta with veggies or salad ingredients. Pasta, even gluten free, can be heavy and make you feel weighed down for the afternoon at work. This way you get the comfort of pasta but without feeling as bad. I also find it helpful to take a digestive enzyme capsule about 10 minutes before eating gluten free pasta, but hopefully your digestive system isn’t as bad as mine.

Bowl O' Veggies

As you can see my kitten is a poser. As soon as the camera comes out she is all over it and has to have her face in the photo’s.

Kitten

What kinds of things do you have for lunch? I would love to hear how you have dealt with food intolerances and what kinds of recipes you love.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pasta Salad

  1. Espirational February 22, 2014 at 12:57 pm Reply

    I like your “kitchen helper.” I have one of those too.

  2. The Veggie Green February 22, 2014 at 8:28 pm Reply

    Hi, we often have wraps with salad and a bean type dip when working or soup/stew type meal if at home – all dairy free

    • freedomfoodjournal February 22, 2014 at 8:38 pm Reply

      I love wraps but can’t find any gluten free ones that don’t disagree with me. Sounds good though πŸ™‚

  3. Brittany March 6, 2014 at 1:57 am Reply

    This looks good! Also, the kitty in the photos makes it 10 x better!

  4. thedomesticstoryteller April 4, 2014 at 1:38 pm Reply

    GF pasta and rice have been my saviours where lunch is concerned. I often take a cold rice dish with lots of veggies and spices with me to Uni πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

