Curried Lentil, Squash and Apple Stew – Chloe’s Kitchen

Chloe's Kitchen

Any one who knows me will know that I have a LOT of cookbooks. Anyone who knows me even better will know that haven’t tried that many of the recipes. I often flick through the books and find inspiration so it’s not like they are sitting gathering dust, but I should really use them more.

Chloe’s Kitchen is a book that came up on my amazon recommendations. It turns out she won Cupcake Wars using only vegan ingredients which is quite impressive, but I don’t watch the show so have never seen her on it. It’s a good book, full of bright photography and lots of interesting vegan recipes. They aren’t really focused on healthy eating as a lot of the books I own are, but there are some good ideas for entertaining. I would like more photo’s of the food though as some pages just have photo’s of Chloe.

This recipe interested me because it uses apple in a savoury stew. I am a fan of sweet/savoury dishes, especially fruit in main meals. Now if you read my last post, you will be wondering why I have made a dish using apple. And I will tell you why; because I made this dish a while ago and never got around to uploading it! If you do want to make this dish low FODMAP you will need to leave out the apples, lentils, onion and garlic, so you wouldn’t be left with much. You could use the spices, broth and tomato as a base for a squash stew and add in any low FODMAP veggies you like, but this dish as it is is quite high FODMAP.

I digress. This recipe was really tasty with a lovely spiced flavour. The sauce was very thin so I crushed a few of the squash chunks into the side of the pan to thicken it up a bit but it was still quite thin. While I love apple with savoury dishes, it didn’t quite work here for me. This made enough to feed myself and my boyfriend for two days. We had it the first night with a mixture of basmati rice and wild rice, and the second night alone, my boyfriend using some wholewheat tortilla wraps to bulk his out a bit.

Sainsburys rice

I also used kale instead of spinach as that was all I had in. I would make this recipe again but I would reduce the stock more to thicken it up a bit and I would leave out the apple. I would also recommend the book to any vegan or none vegan who likes to make exciting food and doesn’t mind a few extra calories here and there.

Curried Lentil, Apple and Squash Stew

Do you have this book? Have you tried anything from it?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Curried Lentil, Squash and Apple Stew – Chloe’s Kitchen

  1. GirlEatsGreens February 15, 2014 at 7:47 pm Reply

    Chloe’s Kitchen is one of the first cookbooks I bought when becoming vegan – it’s amazing! I’ve tried the lasagna, which is wonderful. The pancakes, and 3 different Indian dishes. Definitely worth going back to!

    • freedomfoodjournal February 15, 2014 at 7:58 pm Reply

      I really want to make the 3 Indian dishes. I have also made the takeout noodles (can’t remember the name!)

      • GirlEatsGreens February 15, 2014 at 8:00 pm

        Ohh I haven’t tried the takeout noodles – but they look wonderful! The 3 Indian dishes were great – but just make sure you either have a large kitchen or good ventilation. Our apartment smelled like Indian food for days!

  2. cetateroma February 16, 2014 at 7:43 am Reply

    I bought that book a couple months ago before I went raw. I love the Pineapple fried rice, and especially the chimichurri tacos. Overall though I was a little disappointed by the book. I like Vegan with a Vengence a lot better.

    • freedomfoodjournal February 16, 2014 at 9:49 am Reply

      Pineapple fried rice sounds good. I will have to look up the other book if you recommend it

  3. Brittany February 19, 2014 at 6:31 pm Reply

    I have SO many cookbooks, and I never use them!! I need to change that.

    • freedomfoodjournal February 19, 2014 at 7:09 pm Reply

      Just pick one recipe and make it! I find it too overwhelming otherwise 🙂

  4. ellebakes March 25, 2014 at 9:36 am Reply

    I’m the exact same with cookbooks! I was actually considering buying this one though…does she have an equal mix of lunch/dinner/dessert recipes or is more skewed towards one (like desserts since she won cupcake wars?)! oh btw, I nominated you for a Liebster Award, if you want to participate you can read more about it on this post on my blog 🙂 – http://wp.me/p2w91U-gq

    • freedomfoodjournal March 25, 2014 at 11:57 am Reply

      No there aren’t too many desserts as she has a seperate book all about baking I think. This book has quite a few recipes for entertaining. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

