Green Smoothie Time

Green Smoothie

Green smoothies and juices are everywhere these days, and for good reason! I don’t know about you but I would never eat as many greens on a plate as I could cram into my smoothies and juices. I was all about the green juice and kept my smoothies as banana and berries, but now I have come around to the green smoothie. Two main pro’s of the smoothie over the juice are:

1. It’s much more filling and keeps you satisfied for longer,

2. It’s full of fibre to keep things moving; nothing is left out.

So I have decided to share a simple recipe with you. This recipe is sweet enough to taste like a treat but only has naturally occurring sweetness from the nutritious fruits. It also uses spinach which has a really mild flavour and doesn’t taste at all like cabbage as you might find with something like kale…or cabbage.

Here’s what you will need:

1 handful Frozen or Fresh Baby Spinach
1 small handful Fresh or Frozen Mango Chunks
1 small Banana
Unsweetened Almond Milk

You know how to make a smoothie; just blend it all together. If you have a cheap blender like me then you may need to pulse it a little to break up any frozen chunks before leaving it running to do it’s thing.

You can also add any superfoods or powders that you may have even though this smoothie is nutritious enough as it is. I do sometimes add ground flax or powdered probiotic if I’m not feeling great. You could also add some raw vegan protein powder if you have a big day ahead of you.

Now a word about the ingredients I used. You can buy frozen blocks of spinach in the freezer aisles of the supermarkets but these are more than likely not raw or organic (using Sainsbury’s as an example). What I like to do is buy a bag of fresh, ready to use, organic baby spinach and throw it in the freezer as it is. This keeps it from spoiling and I have peace of mind the it is raw and organic. Obviously you do lose some nutrients during it’s transit time but growing you own would be the only better option, in my opinion.

I also get frozen fruit from Sainsbury’s. In this recipe I used frozen mango chunks which save on all the messy chopping, and keep you smoothie cold and refreshing.

If you can, make your own raw almond milk. This will have none of the added, pasteurised this that and the other. But I have no problem with shop bought unsweetened almond milk. It’s a much better choice than dairy so don’t beat yourself up about it. I buy what’s on offer which is usually Blue Diamond. A good idea would be to read the ingredients of all the available brands and go for the one with the least strange ingredients in that don’t sound appetising.

You can swap and change your ingredients but sometimes it goes wrong. Like if you swap your mangoes for blueberries, it will taste great but it will turn brown. I have been experimental before and ended up with a separated nasty tasting mess. So if you are new to the green smoothie game I suggest following recipes until you know what works and what doesn’t. It’s also worth buying a smoothie travel cup or something you can pour your smoothie into to enjoy on the go. I have mine at my desk if I don’t have time to drink it at home. It’s actually a really speedy breakfast that way, even if you have to leave your blender jug in soak at home while you rush out of the door.

I would love to know what flavours you guys like in your smoothies and what benefits you have experienced. I will be posting a slightly different post soon about high FODMAP foods, specifically for all those IBS suffers. I really recommend this one as it has changed my life in the past (even if I have slipped off the wagon recently). Let’s get well together!

(Ps. I am not a nutritionist and have no training. Everything is based on what I believe to be true)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

