Homemade Raw Green Kale Powder

Homemade green powder (Kale)

I ate a LOT over the Christmas period and I haven’t really stopped. I included plenty of fruit with a few veggies here and there, but I have cheated multiple times. I have a lot on at the moment and have been craving all those bad foods like crazy and giving in to the craving too often. Ordering all the organic fruit and veg pre Christmas certainly helped, as did watching a lot of raw vegan videos online. I have to pull myself together now for my own sake.

I dehydrated some plain kale a little while back with the intention to dress it as I ate it but never felt like eating it. I guess I’m just not a hardcore health nut. But I don’t like to waste (especially as it was a whole bag of kale!) so I decided to make my own green powder.

Kale Chips

There are loads of green powders on the market these days and they are nearly all really expensive. Yes they boast a lot more nutrition and healing superfood properties than just some dehydrated kale, but you don’t always have fresh greens in the house and this little compact pot of greens is perfect to keep on hand for smoothies that need greening up. Seriously, this little pot was a while bag of chopped kale in a previous life!

Kale Powder

My blender isn’t the most powerful so I didn’t achieve a fine powder. I bet a vitamix would give amazing results! But I am pleased with what I got and that I didn’t waste anything. And I’m sure you could do this with any greens or even a mix. Just dehydrate until crisp and blend until a powder is formed. You could even mix in some superfood powder just to up the anti. I have dehydrate blueberries before also which would make a super healthy powder. Have fun with it!

Kale power for smoothies

I guess I’m still not in a good place right now but I am writing this with a cup of green tea with lemon and hoping to do better tomorrow. I hope you are all well and I wish you a belated happy new year.

Kale Powder

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Homemade Raw Green Kale Powder

  1. islandglow January 12, 2014 at 9:42 pm Reply

    Okay, you are officially now my hero. I have been spending $42 on green superfood powder, and throwing away perfectly good kale when I can’t eat it fast enough! You have a new follower in me, THANK YOU!

    • freedomfoodjournal January 12, 2014 at 9:52 pm Reply

      Thank you 🙂 glad to help! I’m going to try blueberry powder next. The sky’s the limit!

Leave a Reply

