Healthy Eats

Two posts in one day, you are spoiling me! This is just a quick one with some healthy foods I have eaten recently. As you will see, there aren’t that many and all I have missed out are a few juices. But tomorrow is a new day. First up is my take on raw pasta.

Raw pasta

I used:
1 Courgette (Zuchinni) Peeled as it wasn’t at it’s freshest, and cut into thin ribbons
1 Black Tomato, diced
1 tbsp Red Onion, finely chopped
1 tsp Orange Chilli, finely chopped
1 tbsp Basil, sliced
Pinch of salt

This one’s pretty simple, just throw it all together and enjoy. The beauty of raw food!

Next is just some fruit I enjoyed, not showing my new obsession with eating whole mangoes on their own:

Pomegrante

Fruit Salad

Apple Fauxmeal

That last one is apple fauxmeal. It’s just apples, cashews and dates pulsed in a food processor until it resembles oatmeal. I liked it but I was done after less than half of it. I love fresh fruit and veg but I don’t know how the 80-10-10’s eat so much of the stuff! The dates made the dish for me though. I have been in love with dates ever since my holiday in Tunisia where they were freely available day and night.

Below is my first try and banana “ice cream” but melted a bit because I have a mare with my blender. It has these “ribs” on the inside and the force of the frozen banana chunks took a bit of one of the ribs off and left my lovely raw chocolate treat with chunks of plastic in. I did try it, which was how I discovered the plastic, and it was delicious! I used 1-2 frozen bananas, 1 tbsp raw cacao, 1/2 tbsp maca, a splash of almond milk because my blender wasn’t powerful enough. I love raw cacao. It actually taste better than ordinary cocoa powder which you wouldn’t expect.

Raw Banana Cacao smoothie

Last is a picture of some mixed dehydrated fruit I made over the holidays. They are good to have on hand when you need something to nibble on. I particularly like the apple and have tried red and green, green slightly edging it for me as I like sour tastes.

Dehydrated Fruit

Does anyone else dehydrate? What have you tried and loved?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Healthy Eats

  1. Brittany January 7, 2014 at 9:47 pm Reply

    AHH THAT PASTA!! That looks sooo good. I want a dehydrator to make more things raw!

    • freedomfoodjournal January 7, 2014 at 9:49 pm Reply

      You should get one! I bought a cheap one (less than £40 so about $70?) and it does the job just fine. It’s worth it for the apple chips alone 🙂

  2. islandglow January 12, 2014 at 9:40 pm Reply

    I love this post. I will be making the “pasta” dish, as I have grown very weary of my quinoa and vegan creamed spinach. I also received a dehydrator as a gift for the holidays, and made my first apple chips. I didn’t take off the peel. Eeeeek! I will not be making that mistake again. Otherwise they are lovely!

    • freedomfoodjournal January 12, 2014 at 9:51 pm Reply

      I hope you love your dehydrator as much as I love mine! Pineapple is a good one to try too. Let me know what you think of the pasta!

Leave a Reply

