Garlic and Sage Butternut Squash Baked Fries

Butternut Squash Fries

I am a carb addict. Always have been and probably always will be. White potatoes get such bad press by my god they taste good. If it wasn’t so unhealthy, I could live off potatoes. Chips/fries, Crisps/chips (I’m English but realise more of my views come from America, mash, boiled, baked. Drool. Just having a plate full of butternut squash fries is probably not great either but it feels so much more virtuous than a plate of deep fried white potatoes, without even the skin to bring fibre to the table. Butternut squash has a colour for starters. A basic rule to live by, or one that I live by when all the information and conflicting stories get a bit too overwhelming, is that colour in fruit and vegetables indicates vitamins. So choosing a beautiful orange squash over a white, starchy potato is a no brainer.

Butternut Squash

See my funky knife? I love this baby. It cuts veggies into cool crinkle shapes to make healthier food just a little more appealing; perfect for kids! Or for grown ups who eat with their eyes. I’ve made all kinds of baked fries with this knife. My favourites are butternut squash, sweet potato and carrot…and white potato. Don’t judge me! And then there’s the garlic, herbs and oil. Choose and oil with a high smoking point like coconut or rapeseed if you are going to cook on a high heat. Olive oil is good if you cook low and slow. Butternut squash is pretty soft and melts down quickly so I tend to cook it on 180c for 15-20 mins for a slight crisp with a soft centre. I like dried sage with butternut squash but pick your own favourite. Garlic burns easily so your best to mince it fine into a paste with the oil or to add slices or diced pieces near the end. Or infuse the oil and don’t actually add any solid garlic.

Fries

I used:

1/4 of a squash per person
1 garlic clove per person, minced
1/2 tbsp oil per person
1 tsp dried or 2 tsp fresh sage person

Cut into desired shapes and bake at 180c for 15-20 mins. Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Garlic and Sage Butternut Squash Baked Fries

  1. Espirational December 8, 2013 at 3:12 pm Reply

    Will have to try this, Love sweet potato oven fries.

  2. Shanna Koenigsdorf Ward December 8, 2013 at 7:24 pm Reply

    This is such a great preparation – I love it! πŸ™‚ – Shanna

  3. ellebakes February 13, 2014 at 12:06 pm Reply

    really want to try this out, looks so yum πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

