Skinny Peanut Butter Brownies

Today will be a productive day. Today will be a productive day. Today will be a productive day. Maybe that should be my mantra. There have been very few productive days lately other than the time I spend at work. It’s cold here and I just want to spend all my time under a blanket waiting for summer to come back. But I won’t. Well not all winter anyway.

So I revisited my favouritr brownie recipe as I so often do when I am in need of comfort. But I want to be good. The original recipe is a full on attack to body with a sugar rush that could wipe out a diabetic and enough calories to full a marathon runner. But this version was still chocolately with the enough peanut butter to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

By the way, I made these a while back and have been to unmotivated to post them/do anything at all. So today I am posting this recipe, cooking a beautiful and healthy meal (still undecided what it will be), as well as cleaning and digging out my art supplies. However I have achieved something this month; I have finished my christmas shopping! Hurrah! It’s not even december yet! That means I can devote december to delicious food and healthy living. Wish me luck!

Recipe

2.5 oz Light at Heart Sugar by Tate+Lyle* (or 5oz normal sugar or preferred sweetner)

image

1.5oz Cocoa Powder
3 oz Unsweetened Apple Sauce
1 Egg or Egg Replacement
3 tbsp Dairy Free Milk
2 heaped tbsp Peanut Butter
3 oz Plain Gluten Free Flour
1tsp Gluten Free Baking Powder

*Light at Heart by Tate+Lyle is a mix of brown sugar and stevia. Due to the addition of stevia you only have to use half the quantity of what a recipe calls for. That’s why you would need 5oz of normal sugar. It’s a staple in my baking these days as there is no compromise on flavour.

Mix the apple sauce and the sugar well. Mix in the cocoa powder to form a paste. Beat in the egg or egg replacement and the softened peanut butter. Loosen with the milk. Stir in the flour and baking powder until well combined.

Bake in a small/medium baking dish at 180c or 160c fan for 15-20 minutes.

image

Recipe makes 12 smallish squares.

image

How do you cope winter? What is your go to comfort food?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

