My Favourite Green Juice

Green juice is not always as easy as it looks. Throw all the greens you have at it and it might not taste so great. But it’s so good for you! Even more so if you have a whole of digestive or other health issues. So I’ve been working on my ultimate recipe for a while.

My starting point was Crazy Sexy Kitchen by Kris Carr, the queen of green juice. I tried some of her recipes and worked out what I liked and didn’t like. My recipe is also an economical one as I leave out thosr expesive greens that give out little juice, by which I mean the likes of kale where you would need half a field or so. I use romaine lettuce which is juicier than it looks, and adds a nice subtle sweetness.

So here’s the recipe:

1/2 head of romaine lettuce
1 green apple
1/3 of a large cucumber
1/2 stick celery (no more than that for celery haters like me)
1/4 of a lemon, skin on

This serves one and makes 300-400 ml depending on how good your ingredients are. You can peel the lemon if you don’t like the rind but it gives good flavour if you keep it on.

As for a juice fast, I don’t think I have what it takes. I am trying to introduce more into my diet though as a breakfast or a snack drink. When I run out of my greens this week I will be moving onto carrot and ginger.

Have you tried green juice? What do you think juicing?

image

Leave a Reply

