Recipe Review – Butternut Squash Mac n Cheese

image

Mac n cheese sounds impossible to make gluten free and dairy free so I have never tried it, but when I saw this recipe using butternut squash instead of cheese sauce, I had to give it a go.

My brother and his wife got me the book Cook Yourself Sexy for my birthday. It is full of healthy recipes that actually look tasty and this is the second one I have tried, the first being Miso Glazed Cod with Braised Bok Choy. That was delicious too.

image

My little helper turned out to be more of a hinderance in the end but she looked fricking cute doing it!

And on to the dish itself. The butternut squash turned into a smooth and sweet sauce that went well with the pasta and tasted yummy cold too. I left off the crumb because I had no breadcrumbs in, and added sweetcorn to the pasta (Heinz gluten free macaroni) to bring some crunch instead. There wasn’t a great deal of cheese going on so I personally wouldn’t call it a mac n cheese but it was really tasty none the less. The recipe called for gruyere but I used lactose free cheese. I’m sure it would work well with a vegan cheese or nutritional yeast instead as the squash is the main flavour anyway. Oh, and I subbed the milk for soya milk.

image

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Recipe Review – Butternut Squash Mac n Cheese

  1. Candace L. November 24, 2013 at 11:31 pm Reply

    I need that recipe!

    • freedomfoodjournal November 25, 2013 at 7:22 am Reply

      Look the book up. There are some other good recipes in there đŸ™‚

  2. Candace L. November 24, 2013 at 11:33 pm Reply

    I need that recipe! Sorry if this posts multiple times, I’m kind of a mobile wordpress virgin!

Leave a Reply

