Coconut Oil Porridge (Oatmeal)

Look up coconut oil online and you will be bombarded with pages boasting the health benefits. Reading all that makes it hard not to give it a go.

I have been told by two different natural health professionals that I have a problem with yeast overgrowth in my stomach due to lack of good bacteria. I have been taking probiotic tablets for years and still can’t eat yeast or drink alcohol without consequences, so the anti fungal properties of coconut oil led me to take the step to buy a rather expensive little jar of the raw, extra virgin variety.

Coconut flesh and coconut milk tend to irritate my IBS but so far I have had no problem with the oil; probably due to eating it in small quantities. The raw oil has a beautiful subtle coconut flavour and compliments many dishes.

While the coconut oil detox of having nothing but 10 tbsp of the stuff a day didn’t appeal, I am adding it into my daily diet in the hope that I will start to notice a difference soon.

Here is one of my favourites; porridge made with unsweetened almond milk and a spoon of coconut oil mixed in after cooking.

image

I also spread it on gluten free crackers or corn crispbreads, or add some to buckwheat noodles just after they are cooked to add another dimensions to other Asian flavours.

Do you have any other ideas for using coconut oil? Have you noticed a difference in your health and wellbeing since introducing it?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Coconut Oil Porridge (Oatmeal)

  1. rgcornish May 7, 2014 at 8:26 pm Reply

    I put two tablespoons of liquefied coconut oil in my berry smoothie in the morning. I use strawberry kefir and unsweetened greek yogurt added to frozen mixed berries. Almond milk works fine for me in smoothies. I also add Salba, a good source of fiber and Omega 3’s, and flaxseeds. Good and good for you!

    • freedomfoodjournal May 7, 2014 at 8:44 pm Reply

      Good tips! Do you just heat your coconut oil up a little first? I add mine to smoothies while still solid but my blender isn’t the best so I get some lumps.

Leave a Reply

