Organic Fruit and Veg Box

I had a flyer through the door months back from Abel and Cole. It peaked my interest at the time but for one reason or another I didn’t persue it. Eating better quality food has been on my mind more and more lately. I don’t want to be ingesting harmful pesticides and what ever else they spray all over normal food. I don’t want all the additives and preservatives that modern food is pumped full of. I don’t want fruit and veg that has been picked under ripe so that it will last through weeks of storage and transportation.

Abel and Cole do a variety of sizes and options for organic fruit and/or veg boxes delivered every friday. You don’t have to be in when they arrive and they have handy technologies for chilled goods ordered on the side. They encourage recycling too and ask you to leave your empty box out for reuse.

It does work out a little more expensive than the supermarkets but it is all organic and seasonal. It’s also pretty exciting for a foodie like me to receive something different each time and then come up with ways to use it all.

Here are some pictures of my first box. I got the cookbook free with a code on my flyer.

image

image

image

image

The soysages were an added extra that came in a wool insulated bag with gel packs to keep it cool.

My next box comes tomorrow and I can’t wait to see what I get! I ordered an extra of heirloom tomatoes this week and I am getting a free carton of orange juice which I think was a freebie to encourage sticking with it. I will keep you posted!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Organic Fruit and Veg Box

  1. The Yoga Health Coach July 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm Reply

    Love box schemes and for sure it makes it interesting that you never know fully what’s turning up at your door each week; it gets you creative in the kitchen. Have fun.

    • freedomfoodjournal July 12, 2013 at 6:42 am Reply

      I think they are a great idea. It makes it a lot easier to eat healthy too!

  2. amzie23 July 30, 2013 at 11:18 am Reply

    I get my organic box delivered on a Wednesday here in Bangkok. Always so excited to see whats inside and currently it’s avo season here 😀 Thanks for liking my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

