Simple Green Salad and Fruit Snack Box

Apologies for not posting for a while. I have still been cooking and storing up recipes though. On the advise of the lady I see for CBT, I have been actively working on improving my mood and energy levels. I have been feeling extreme fatigue for almost a year so it is very apt that things are starting to look up as the sun finally comes out.

Anyway, I have enjoyed the British sunshine this weekend and I have been planning for a healthy week before I go on holiday. Lack of exercise has left me somewhat concious about my body but I also want to get my digestion in a good place before I head out into the unknown.

Having so little energy, and only perking up slightly in the last couple of weeks (due to cbt, sunshine and a change of medication) yoga has been my saviour. That and light gardening.

So here is my work food for tomorrow. Nutritious and delicious. A simple green salad of lettuce, julienne courgette and cucumber, mixed with a little veganase. Ok, so I could have picked a better dressing but I gave in to a craving. I also have a snack box of red grapes and two small apricots. Yum!

image

Next up are some pictures of my work in progress vegetable garden.

image

Parsnips that won’t be ready until winter.

image

Strawberries that should be ready in about a month or two.

image

Dwarf green beans.

image

Carrots…yes a planted a few earlier than the rest.

image

Baby potatoes.

image

Tomatoes.

image

And a variety of seedlings.

I’m pretty new to growing veggies so hopefully I will have something edible at the end of all this. Some people might call me sad but I love veggies. I get so excited when I find a new variety of something that I have never tried before!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Simple Green Salad and Fruit Snack Box

  1. The Yoga Health Coach May 28, 2013 at 11:13 am Reply

    Awesome, I to am new to the garden as well, but great fun learning and watching the seeds grow and flower ect. I will post my trials and tribulations soon. Happy gardening

    • freedomfoodjournal May 28, 2013 at 11:47 am Reply

      It is! It will be even better when everything is full grown. I am looking forward to my sunflowers coming into bloom 🙂

Leave a comment