Spinach Quinoa Salad

image

I love making a sauce or pesto with spinach. It’s packed with nutrients so long as you don’t cook the life out of it, plus it tastes so fresh combined with a dash of fresh lemon juice.

Pine nuts are a new ingredient in my kitchen. Toasted and tossed over this salad, or any salad, they are delicious. I love adding nuts to dishes so I am delighted to have a new variety of nut to add to my larder.

As I said, heat will drain your spinach of it’s beautiful life giving nutrients so I prefer to cool my quinoa and keep my sauce raw for a cold salad, but if you prefer it all warm then heat up your sauce but try not to over do it.

Recipe

1/2 cup Uncooked Quinoa
Juice of 1/2 a Lemon
1 tbsp Olive Oil
1 Handful Fresh Basil Leaves
2 Big Handfuls Spinach Leaves
Pinch of Salt
1 tbsp Pine Nuts
Lettuce Leaves
1 – 2 inch Chunk of Courgette/Zuccini
A few Cherry Tomatoes

Cook the quinoa in water until tender then drain and cool. Put the spinach, basil, oil, lemon and salt in a blender and blend into a sauce. You may need to add a little water to loosen it up.

Toast the pine nuts lightly. Heat up a griddle pan and finely slice the courgette. I used a mandolin to get it nice and thin, taking a slice off your thumb is optional.

image

Lightly brush the slices of courgette with oil (I seasoned mine with a little dried basil too) and griddle until they are softened and have lovely brown bar marks on them. Mix your sauce into your quinoa.

image

Make a bed with the lettuce and spoon on the quinoa. Decorate with the nuts, courgette and tomatoes.

image

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

