Fruit and Nut Dark Chocolate Bark

image

I have a sweet tooth. Infact, I would say 99% of my teeth are sweet, taking it a little too literally. The only thing that stops me living off sugary food is the nausea you get when you over do it. Because human bodies are smart and they give you advise if you pay attention.

Now, at the advanced and wise old age of 24, it’s not just that nausea that is the problem. There’s the IBS, the yeast intollerance (basically any trace of yeast in my stomach breeds like crazy at a taste of the sweet stuff), and the general feeling of unwell and mood problems I deal with everyday (hence the health kick I am on).

Artificial sweetners make my IBS flare up so I am skeptical of zero calorie sugar alternatives, even though products like stevia are labelled as natural. How natural can a white as snow granulated powder be? Especially with zero calories. Not that sugar looks natural but here lies the problem and my quest to satisfy my sweet tooth without worsening my digestion and send my moods all over the place, not to mention my energy levels.

image

Raw nuts and seeds are a really healthy choice for a snack but they bore me. Dried fruit is a good choice too as all the nutrients are packed into a sweet and chewy nugget, but dried fruit is tough on the old IBS. If only there was some way to enjoy raw nuts and seeds, a tiny amount of nutrient rich dried fruits, and still feel like I am having a treat…

CHOCOLATE! Chocolate really does make everything better, especially when it’s dairy free. The animals are happy, my tummy is happy, my sweet tooth is all kinds of happy. What’s not to like?

So I present to you (some what giddily) Fruit and Nut Dark Chocolate Bark…plus a few seeds because we are healthy and stuff.

Recipe
200g Dairy Free Dark Chocolate (check those labels friends, not all are dairy free)
100g Pecans, roughly chopped
50g Cashews, roughly chopped
50g Dried Cranberries, no added sugar is preferred
3 tbsp Linseed (Flaxseed)

Gently melt the chocolate and then allow to cool slightly. Spread it out thinly on a lined tray (I used clingfilm so it was important for the chocolate not to be too hot). Sprinkle over all the goodies and set in the fridge. When completely set, break up into chunks or cut into bars.

image

You can obviously use what ever goodies you like. Just keep them natural. Keep in the fridge unless it is thr depths of winter. Because the chocolate is thin it tends to melt.

Enjoy!

image

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Fruit and Nut Dark Chocolate Bark

  1. Erin May 28, 2013 at 5:54 am Reply

    Have you ever tried coconut sugar as a sweetener? It is a bit on the expensive side but it’s unprocessed and pretty low glycemic index as far as sugar goes. It’s not really sugar per se but sap from coconut trees! Sweet but not as sweet as regular sugars or artificial sweeteners.

    • freedomfoodjournal May 28, 2013 at 11:45 am Reply

      No but it keeps coming up in my amazon recommendations and I have been curious. I will have to give it a go!

  2. australian Shepherds Information July 19, 2013 at 11:10 am Reply

    Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. Many thanks!

  3. Sophie33 December 5, 2014 at 9:31 pm Reply

    I made them & loved them so much! very tasty! 😃

    • freedomfoodjournal December 5, 2014 at 10:10 pm Reply

      Oh great 🙂 I’m glad you liked them. I will be making them again this year for Christmas

      • Sophie33 December 5, 2014 at 10:15 pm

        Ooh yes! 😀

Leave a Reply

