Avocado and Black Bean Crispbreads

image

I have been suffering lately with an extreme lack of energy. Although my dietian tells me I am eating reasonably well, I am trying to pack in all the extra nutrients I can. I am also trying to add a larger variety of foods, including foods I have not had for a while.

Avocado and black beans are two ingredients that I love but rarely use. I limit my bean intake as they cause stomach discomfort in most ibs sufferers if eaten regularly, and avocado tends to just sit in my fruit bowl until it goes bad.

I can’t speak for all ibs sufferers but I can handle small amounts of beans, and black beans seem to suit me best, so it felt like a good place to begin.

Recipe
1 small hass avocado
1-2 tsp lime juice
1/4 tsp cayenne
Pinch of sea salt
2-3 tbsp tinned, rinsed black beans
2 crispbreads or corn or rice cakes
(i used soy and linseed corn thins)

Mash the avocado with the lime juice, cayenne and salt. Spread the mix evenly over the crispbreads and top with black beans.

As easy as that! If you want a more portable version, put the avocado mix in a small tupperware container and take all elements seperately. Refridgerate avocado and beans, and put together when ready to eat. This stops your crispbreads going soggy.

image

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

