Low Fat Brownies

image

Brownies are my go to comfort food. I can’t resist the intense chocolate hit and the gooey, moist centre. But january is a time for cutting back and thinking a little more about health and what we are shoving into our faces. So when my craving for brownies hit me like a ton of bricks, I worked on a recipe that would satisfy me but would not clog my arteries and pile on the pounds. Plus I have been reading a lot of horror stories about margarine lately (my long standing butter substitute) so there is none in this recipe.

Recipe
3oz mashed banana (about 2 small ones)
3oz brown sugar
3oz honey (or maple syrup)
1.5oz cocoa powder
3 egg whites
3oz gluten free flour blend
1/2tsp gluten free baking powder
Pinch of salt
1tsp vanilla extract

If you aren’t a banana fan you can swap it for applesauce.

Whisk together the sugar, honey, banana, vanilla and cocoa powder until well combined. Whisk in the egg whites and then the flour, baking powder and salt. Pour into a lightly greased baking tin and bake at 180c or 160c for a fan oven for 20-25 mins until the centre springs back to the touch.

These are rich and delicious but might need sweetening up for kids or adults that aren’t really into dark chocolate.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

