Apple and Oat Pancakes

image

Happy new year! I hope it is a happy and healthy year for you all. I have made my resolutions, and sincerely plan to stick to them, but this morning I had a craving for something comforting and delicious. I could have cooked up a bowl of sweetened oats but pancakes have been on my my mind for a while.

Oats really are a superfood, and gluten free oats are a gift from the gods. I try to include them in whatever I eat and pancakes are no exception. This recipe is not far away from being a bowl of porridge/oatmeal so there’s no need to feel too guilty.

Recipe
2oz GF Oats
2oz GF Plain Flour
1/2 tsp GF Baking Powder
1 Egg
150ml Almond or Soya Milk
4 tbsp Apple Sauce
1/2 tsp Cinnamon

Note – I used apple sauce with sugar in so didn’t add any sugar to the recipe. It is down to you how sweet you make it.

Whisk all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Whisk in everything else until all the lumps are gone.

I cooked mine in a mini pancake pan over a medium heat until browned on both sides. If you are using a larger pan, just spoon in blobs.

This recipe makes around 5 pancakes.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

