Toasted Cumin & Tomato Quinoa

image

The new year is coming up fast and I am getting prepared for it to be a healthy one. I’m sure we all over did it on the food this christmas, and I for one am feeling it taking it’s toll.

So why wait until January? Today I wanted to make something healthy but full of flavour. So here is the recipe to today’s creation. I really love the woody flavour of the cumin with the freshness of the tomato and parsley. I hope you like it too.

Recipe to serve 2

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
1 cup water
A stock cube or 2 garlic cloves, 2 bay leaves and some salt & pepper
6-8 cherry tomatoes
1 tbsp lime juice
1-2 tsp olive or nut oil
2-3 tbsp flaked almonds
1-2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
1-2 tsp cumin seeds

Put the water into a saucepan with either the crumbled stock cube or the garlic, bay and seasoning. I go for the garlic version as flavours the quinoa beautifully and there are no added ingredients that will upset my stomach. I bruise the garlic but leave the skin on so it is easy to pick out at the end of cooking. Add in the rinsed quinoa and allow to simmer until tender with some bite left to it.

image

Meanwhile, slice each tomato into 8 and put into a mixing bowl. Lightly toast the cumin seeds in a dry frying pan until they smell lovely without burning, and roughly grind. Add this to the tomatoes along with the oil, lime juice, almonds and parsley.

When the quinoa is cookef, drain away and excess liquid and pick out the garlic cloves and bay leaves. Toss the quinoa with the tomato mixture and serve. I topped mine with extra nuts and parsley. It is good eaten right away or allowed to cool. I think this will be making an appearance in my lunchbox!

I hope you all had a lovely christmas. Happy new year!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Toasted Cumin & Tomato Quinoa

  1. nodairykitchen December 31, 2012 at 3:03 pm Reply

    We are launching a new site dedicated entirely to dairy free cooking and was wondering if you would like to participate. The site will host a collection from food blogs from across the web from folks like you that take pride in making their meals with love and from scratch.
    Best of all, traffic will go directly back to your site; all we do is organize and link back to you.

    Check us out at NoDairyKitchen.com
    Cheers and Healthy Eats
    ~Jennifer

    • freefrombakeathon December 31, 2012 at 4:31 pm Reply

      Hi. I would be happy to participate. Please let me know the details. Thanks

      • nodairykitchen December 31, 2012 at 4:34 pm

        Wonderful! Let me know which you post you would like to link first, and we will go from there. In the future, if there are others you wish to link, just shoot me an email. I look forward to staying in touch.

Leave a Reply

